Beat The Streets - New York City Wrestling

The Jay Alvarez Memorial Wrestling Tournament took place at the Eagle Academy for Young Men this past weekend.

Click here to check out tournament results.

With the new year we welcome new traditions! Beginning with the Alvarez Memorial Tournament, all PSAL wrestling officials will now wear a sportsmanship whistle hung on an orange ribbon. The ribbon-strung sportsmanship whistles will be presented to any wrestler or coach that exhibits exemplary sportsmanship over the course of a tournament.

During the Alvarez Memorial Tournament, five PSAL wrestlers took home ribbon-strung sportsmanship whistles. Pictured above are Keith Thompson (Hillcrest), Jhenell Nian (A.E. Smith), Yonefry Polanco (DeWitt Clinton), Derick Diaz (A.P Randolph), and Amir Ahtamov (Midwood).

Beat the Streets Wrestling is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. If you would like to support our mission to improve the lives and futures of New York City public school students by giving them the opportunity to wrestle, please click the donate button below: